Week 7: Imagism

Monday, February 23

Wednesday, February 15

Friday, February 27

  • Read Des Imagistes (pgs. 40-end)
  • Assignment (due Monday, March 2):
    • Choose one poem from Des Imagistes, one we haven’t discussed in class.
    • Write a 250-word analysis of the poem and how it fulfills (or doesn’t) Ezra Pound’s concept of Imagism.
    • Post this in the Discussion Forum before class.

Week 4: Early English & Irish Modernism

Monday, February 2

Wednesday, February 4

Friday, February 6

Week 3: Rebellions

Monday, January 26

Wednesday, January 28

Friday, January 30

Week 2: Previously, in Poetry…

Monday, January 19 – Holiday

Wednesday, January 21

Thursday, January 22 – Monday Classes

Friday, January 23

Week 1: Startup

Welcome to our Spring 2015 Modern Poetry course!

This is our official course website, our virtual home during this semester. I will be updating this site with all the information you need, including links to reading material, assignments, and other resources.

For now, your startup assignments are:

  • Create a blog on WordPress.com which will serve as your reading journal for this class. (please disregard)
  • Instead of creating a WordPress blog, we will use a forum on the blog.
  • Register for the site and login so you can participate in the forums.
  • I will post readings for next week and your first assignment later.

Here’s to a fun semester!